BBC Philharmonic

Saturday, 9 December, 2017 7:30PM
The Bridgewater Hall

<h6><b>BBC Philharmonic</b></h6>
Tickets Not Available

Juanjo Mena conductor | Renaud Capuçon violin

Rodion Shchedrin Dialogues with Shostakovich (17’) (UK premiere) | Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 (36’) | Shostakovich Symphony No. 15 (45’) |

Tickets: £40 - £12
(All ticket prices include £2 booking fee)

Student and Under-16s tickets: £3 (in person) or £5 (online/by phone) Only one discount can be applied per purchase and cannot be used in conjunction with any other discount, voucher or special offer.

BBC Philharmonic Flexible Packages: Choose 3 concerts and receive 10% discount plus free concert programmes or Choose 5+ BBC Philharmonic concerts and receive 15% discount plus free concert programmes. Book a Package.

Tonight illustrates why Dmitry Shostakovich remains one of the 20th century’s most compelling composers and one of its biggest enigmas. Performed by outstanding French soloist Renaud Capuçon, the First Violin Concerto seems to speak of Stalinist oppression, which may be why Shostakovich hid it from view until after the dictator’s death. It’s paired with his 15th and final symphony, which moves from playful abandon to existential dread in 45 gripping minutes. The evening opens with a UK premiere: an evocative portrait of the composer by fellow Russian Rodion Shchedrin.