BBC Philharmonic

Saturday, 21 April, 2018 7:30PM
The Bridgewater Hall

<h6><b>BBC Philharmonic</b></h6>

Clemens Schuldt conductor | Leonard Elschenbroich cello

Strauss Death and Transfiguration (26’) | Mark Simpson Cello Concerto (20’) (world premiere) | Shostakovich Symphony No. 1 (31’)

Tickets: £40.50 - £12.50
(All ticket prices include £2.50 booking fee)

Student and Under-16s tickets: £3 (in person) or £5.50 (online/by phone) Only one discount can be applied per purchase and cannot be used in conjunction with any other discount, voucher or special offer.

BBC Philharmonic Flexible Packages: Choose 3 concerts and receive 10% discount plus free concert programmes or Choose 5+ BBC Philharmonic concerts and receive 15% discount plus free concert programmes. Book a Package.

Three years after the BBC Philharmonic’s world premiere of The Immortal drew rapturous acclaim from critics and audiences, Mark Simpson, the orchestra’s Composer in Association, presents another brand-new work. Friends with Simpson since they were both BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artists from 2012 to 2014, superb young cellist Leonard Elschenbroich gives the premiere of this BBC Philharmonic commission, the centrepiece of a programme that also features Strauss’s redemptive tone-poem and Shostakovich’s staggering First Symphony – completed when the composer was just 18.

Preview +: Mark Simpson talks about his new Cello Concerto

Event Timings

Main Entrance Doors: 5.00pm
Preview+: 6.45pm in Auditorium
Concert Start: 7.30pm
Interval: 8.25pm
Second Half: 8.45pm
Concert Finish: 9.20pm

All timings are approximate and are subject to change.