Chetham's Symphony Orchestra

Friday, 20 October, 2017 7:30PM
The Bridgewater Hall

<h6><b>Chetham's Symphony Orchestra</b></h6>
Tickets Not Available

Stephen Threlfall conductor | Oliver Burrow clarinet

Tchaikovsky Festival Overture: The Year 1812 (15’) | Copland Concerto for Clarinet (18’) | Shostakovich Symphony No. 12: The Year 1917 (39’)

Tickets: £20
10% discount for students, senior citizens and claimants
50% discount for under 16s

(All ticket prices include £2 booking fee)

Part of Chetham’s Russian October festival.

Chetham’s Symphony Orchestra presents a major symphonic programme in response to the centenary of the Russian Revolution. Performed by Chetham’s stunning young players, renowned for their skill and energy, the concert opens with Tchaikovsky’s celebratory 1812 Overture, marking the successful defence of Russia against Napoleon’s forces. 16-year old clarinetist Oliver Burrow performs a work born out of the 1940s jazz era, Aaron Copland’s Clarinet Concerto commissioned by Benny Goodman - ‘The King of Swing’.

Dedicated to Lenin and completed in 1961, Shostakovich’s 12th Symphony is a monumental, programmatic work portraying the events of 1917 - an epic year in Russian history, with the assassination of the Romanov dynasty heralding the country’s headlong journey into Revolution.

“This is ‘just a school orchestra’? Close your eyes and you couldn’t believe it” – Richard Morrison, The Times